Orders are shipped weekly, but due to a high volume of orders there are delays at present.

Opus Arte

Woolf Works Blu-ray (The Royal Ballet)


  • Virginia Woolf defied the false order of narrative conventions to depict a heightened, startling and poignant reality. Woolf Works recreates the synaesthetic collision of form and substance in her writings. Each of the three acts springs from one of Woolf's landmark novels: Mrs Dalloway, Orlando and The Waves - but these inspirations are also enmeshed with elements from her letters, essays and diaries. Woolf Works expresses the heart of an artistic life driven to discover a freer, uniquely modern realism, and brings to life Woolf's world of 'granite and rainbow', where human beings are at once both physical body and uncontained essence. Woolf Works (2015) was Wayne McGregor's first full-length work for The Royal Ballet.

    Dancers: Alessandra Ferri, Gary Avis, Matthew Ball, Federico Bonelli, Francesca Hayward, Paul Kay, Sarah Lamb, Steven McRae, Natalia Osipova, Calvin Richardson, Beatriz Stix-Brunell, Akane Takada, Eric Underwood, Edward Watson

    Soprano: Anush Hovhannisyan
    Speaker: Gillian Anderson
    Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
    Conductior: Koen Kessels

    Extras: An Introduction; Maggie Smith reading extracts from The Waves; On the music

  • Picture:16:9 
    Sounds: PCM Stereo 2.0 / DTS MA 5.1
    Format: Bluray
    Region Code: All Regions
    Running Time: 118 mins
    Year: 2015

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review