Welcome back! We will be shipping orders out every Wednesday via Royal Mail

The Royal Opera House

Wagner: Tannhäuser DVD (Bayreuther Festspiele)

Götz Friedrich's 1970s production scandalized the Bayreuth old guard while revealing Tannhäuser’s revolutionary qualities to a new age of Wagner lovers. ‘Davis’s conducting is nothing short of magnificent, while the singing is truly on a festival level’ – New York Daily News. ‘The performances throughout are superb… Jones is stunningly effective’ – New York Times. ‘Jürgen Rose’s beautiful settings… an excellent introduction to a new approach to Wagner's world’ – Le Quotidien de Paris.

Composer:Richard Wagner
Tannhäuser: Spas Wenkoff
Venus/Elisabeth: Gwyneth Jones
Wolfram von Eschenbach: Bernd Weikl
Landgraf Hermann:Hans Sotin
Walther von der Vogelweide:Robert Schunk

Chor der Bayreuther Festspiele
Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele
Conductor: Sir Colin Davis
Chorus Master: Norbert Balatsch
Staged by:Götz Friedrich
Jürgen Rose
Chreography: John Neumeier 

Picture: 4:3
Sound: DTS 5.1 /  PCM Stereo
Format: NTSC
Region code: 0 worldwide
Running time: 188 mins
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE/SP/CH
Year: 1978