Brexit: We have temporarily paused all orders to EU/EEA countries until further notice. 

Opus Arte

The Tempest DVD (Shakespeare's Globe)

Notify me when this product is available:

Widely considered to be the last of his solo plays, The Tempest is Shakespeare’s final masterpiece, a tale of ‘forgiveness, generosity and enlightenment’ in which Prospero, the rightful Duke of Milan, conjures up a storm to lure his perfidious brother to the enchanted island on which he and his daughter Miranda have spent 12 years in exile. Combining sumptuous Jacobean costume with enchanting music and ‘spellbinding staging’ (Daily Telegraph), this acclaimed Globe production – starring Olivier Award winner Roger Allam as a ‘poignantly humane’ Prospero (Financial Times) – is a touching portrayal of one of the Bard's most lyrical stage works. Filmed in High Definition and true surround sound.

‘Jeremy Herrin’s production, with beautiful Jacobean costumes and genuinely enchanting music by Stephen Warbeck, captures all the wonder of this play about forgiveness, with its tough acknowledgement that it isn’t always possible to redeem the hardest of hearts – even with the help of magic.
‘The great Roger Allam won an Olivier Award for his magnificent performance as Falstaff at the Globe and this most versatile and humane of actors is in equally fine form here. James Garnon is an outstanding, feral Caliban… Colin Morgan memorably captures Ariel’s mixture of the ethereal and the petulant. Trevor Fox is genuinely funny as a Geordie Trinculo… his spellbinding staging… a production that memorably captures the humour, the enchantment and the tantalizing sense of mystery of Shakespeare’s last masterpiece.’ – Daily Telegraph

Shakespeare's Globe
Roger Allam
Jason Baughan
Jessie Buckley
Sam Cox 
James Garnon 
Colin Morgan 
Trevor Fox 

Jeremy Herrin
Max Jones
Stephen Warbeck
Musical Director (Band): Rob Millett
Siân Williams 
Musical Director:
Bret Yount

Spoken in Shakespeare’s English with English, French and German subtitles.

Picture: 16:9
Sound: PCM 2.0 / 5.1(5.0) DTS
Format: NTSC
Region code: All regions
Running time: 162 mins
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE
Year: 2011