The Royal Opera House

The Beauty of Ballet DVD Set

Bringing together five classic productions from The Australian Ballet, this special collection explores the beauty of ballet by uniting spectacular choreography, stunning set design, premier dancers and sumptuous musical scores. Five very different worlds are assembled, all of which are guaranteed to enthral viewers for their visual charm and powerful narrative. As well as the classics Giselle, Coppélia and La Fille mal gardée, the collection also includes Sir Kenneth MacMillan’s acclaimed take on the tragic love story Manon as well as László Seregi’s epic account of the Roman soldier Spartacus.

Music: Léo Delibes
Dancers: Lisa Pavane, Greg Horsman, Colin Peasley
Production: George Ogilvie
Choreography: Aurthur Saint-Léon / Marius Petipa / Enrico Cecchetti / Peggy van Praagh
Sets: Kristian Fredrikson
The Australian Opera and Ballet Orchestra
Conductor: Noel Smith

Music: Adolphe Adam
Dancers: Christine Walsh, Kevin Coe, Ai-gul Gaisina, Paul de Masson, Roy Wilson, Sandra Morrison, Colin Peasley, Elizabeth Toohey, David McAllister
Production: Maina Gielgud
Choreography: Marius Petipa / Jean Coralli / Jules Perrot
Sets: Peter Farmer
The Elizabethan Melbourne Orchestra
Conductor: Noel Smith

Music:Jules Massenet 
Dancers: Justine Summers, Steven Heathcote, Nigel Burley, Jonathan Kelly, Lynette Wills, Paul de Mason, Susan Elston, Steven Woodgate
Production: Patricia Ruanne / Monica Parker
Choreography: Kenneth MacMillan 
Sets: Peter Farmer
Adelaide Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Noel Smith

La Fille mal Gardée
Music: Ferdinand Hérold / John Lanchbery 
Dancers: Fiona Tonkin, David McAllister, Ray Powell, Stephen Morgante, Roy Wilson
Staging:Faith Worth 
Choreography: Frederick Ashton
Sets: Osbert Lancaster
State Orchestra of Victoria
Conductor: Noel Smith

 Aram Khachaturián 
Dancers: Stephen Heathcote, Lisa Pavane, Greg Horsman, Adam Marchant, Robert Marshall, Stephen Morgante, Ulrike Lytton, Fiona Tonkin
Choreography: László Seregi
Sets: Gábor Forray
State Orchestra of Victoria
Conductor: Ormsby Wilkins 

Picture: 4:3
Sound: PCM Stereo 2.0
Format: NTSC
Region Code: All regions 
Running time: 563 mins
Year: 1990-95