Ashton Collection Volume 1 Blu-ray (The Royal Ballet)


  • This special 3-disc collection from The Royal Ballet includes nine of Frederick Ashton’s most loved short ballets, which showcase the range of his style. The pure classical perfection of Symphonic Variations is contrasted with the light-hearted exuberance of Voices of Spring. Both are complemented by the passion and drama of Marguerite and Armand and the romance and comedy of The Two Pigeons and The Dream. The collection is completed by Rhapsody, La Valse, Monotones I and II and Méditation from Thaïs, four of the most iconic abstract works created by The Royal Ballet’s founding choreographer.

    Volume 2 is also available, featuring SylviaLa fille mal gardée and The Tales of Beatrix Potter 

    Dancers: Natalia Osipova, Steven McRae
    Artists of The Royal Ballet

    The Two Pigeons
    The Young Girl: Lauren Cuthbertson
    The Young Man: Vadim Muntagirov
    Artists of The Royal Ballet

    The Dream
    Titania: Akane Takada
    Oberon: Steven McRae
    Artists of The Royal Ballet

    Symphonic Variations
     Marianela Nuñez, Vadim Muntagirov, Yasmine Naghdi, James Hay, Yuhui Choe, Tristan Dyer

    Marguerite and Armand
    Marguerite: Zenaida Yanowsky
    Armand: Roberto Bolle
    Artists of The Royal Ballet

    La Valse
    Dancers: Hikaru Kobayashi, Ryoichi Hirano, Samantha Raine, Bennet Gartside, Helen Crawford, Brian Maloney
    Artists of the Royal Ballet.

    'Méditation' from Thaïs
    Dancers: Leanne Benjamin, Valeri Hristov

    Voices of Spring
    Dancers: Yuhui Choe, Alexander Campbell

    Monotones I and II
    Music: Erik Satie
    Dancers: Emma Maguire, Akane Takada, Dawid Trzensimiech, Nehemiah Kish, Edward Watson, Marianela Núñez 

    Marguerite and Armand
    Marguerite: Tamara Rojo
    Armand: Sergei Polunin
    Artists of the Royal Ballet.

    Orchestra of The Royal Opera House
    Conductors: Emmanuel Plasson; Barry Wordsworth

    Extras: Introduction to Frederick Ashton; The Ashton Foundation; Introductions to the ballets; Exploring the choreography of The Two Pigeons; Bottom on pointe (The Dream); Interview with Zenaida Yanowsky (Marguerite and Armand)

    Picture: 16:9
    Sound: LPCM 2.0 & DTS Master Audio 5.1
    Format: Bluray
    Region code: All regions
    Running Time: 355 mins

  • The Dream

    Monotones II

    Marguerite and Armand