Susan Chilcott - The Shining River CD

Until her untimely death in 2003, Susan Chilcott was placed among the outstanding lyric sopranos of her generation, one whose captivating stage presence, dramatic vitality and vocal poetry created memorable portrayals of heroines in Verdi, Janácek and Britten, among others. Her last recording was of songs by Copland, acclaimed at the time of its first release for her 'commanding authority' and 'youthful vitality' (Gramophone). This recital is now complemented by a range of Shakespeare-inspired songs from Berlioz to Dominick Argento, never previously released.

Copland: Old American Songs, Set 1
1. The Boatmen's Dance
2. The Dodger
3. Long Time Ago
4. Simple Gifts
5. I Bought Me A Cat

Copland: Old American Songs, Set 2
6. The Little Horses
7. Zion's Walls
8. The Golden Willow Tree
9. At The River
10. Ching-A-Ring Chaw

Copland: 12 Poems of Emily Dickinson
11. Nature, The Gentlest Mother
12. There Came A Wind Like A Bugle
13. Why Do They Shut Me Out Of Heaven?
14. The World Feels Dusty
15. Heart, We Will Forget Him
16. Dear March, Come In!
17. Sleep Is Supposed To Be
18. When They Come Back
19. I Felt A Funeral In My Brain
20. I've Heard An Organ Talk Sometimes
21. Going To Heaven!
22. The Chariot
23. NIGHT (Aaron Schaffer) (1918)
24. POET'S SONG (EE Cummings) (1927)
25. PASTORALE (Translated From The Kafristan By E Power Mathys) (1921)
26. R Strauss: No.1 from Three Ophelia Lieder
27. Berlioz: La Mort d’Ophélie
28. Argento: Winter
29. Vaughan Williams: Orpheus with his Lute
30. Britten: Calypso
31. Copland Little Horses 

Susan Chilcott (soprano)
Iain Burnside (piano)
Running Time: 78.04 mins