The Royal Opera House

Stravinsky: The Rake's Progress Blu-ray (La Monnaie-De Munt)


  • Stravinsky’s masterwork The Rake’s Progress, created for La Fenice in Venice in 1951, is based on a libretto by W. H. Auden and Chester Kallman, inspired by a series of 18th century prints by William Hogarth. This amazing production from La Monnaie–De Munt ‘jazzifies’ the setting by replacing Hogarth’s sin city, London, with 1950s Las Vegas, turning it into a glittering, cinematic gallery of tableaux vivants inspired by the early days of television. Staged by one of the most visionary theatre directors of our age, the Québécois Robert Lepage, the neo-classical morality tale truly becomes a grand spectacle. Lepage’s visual imagination works its magic superbly, while Kazushi Ono’s energetic musical direction drives the sparkling ensemble to exhilarating heights. This is the same production performed at The Royal Opera House.

    Composer: Igor Stravinsky
    Anne Trulove: Laura Claycomb
    Tom Rakewell: Andrew Kennedy
    Nick Shadow: William Shimell
    Mother Goose: Julianne Young
    Baba the Turk: Dagmar Peckova

    Symphony Orchestra & Chorus of la Monnaie de Munt
    Conductor: Kazushi Ono 
    Stage Director: Robert Lepage

    Plus: Illustrated synopsis / Cast gallery / Interview with Robert Lepage / Insight into rehearsals, costumes & make-up / Storyboards

  • Picture: 16:9 HD
    Sound: PCM 2.0 / 5.0 / true surround sound
    Region code:  (All regions)
    Duration: 174 mins
    Subtitles: EN/FR/GE/SP/IT
    Year: 2008