The Royal Opera House

Strauss: Capriccio DVD (Metropolitan Opera)

Strauss's final opera, first seen at the Met in 1998 in this John Cox production, was revived in 2010 for Renée Fleming. One of the world's great Strauss interpreters, she brought a 'plush and alluring' voice and 'noble phrasing' to her portrayal of the countess, 'a role that suits her ideally' (The New York Times) Fleming is joined in this Live in HD production by an extraordinary cast under the musical direction of Andrew Davis.

Composer:Richard Strauss
Countess: Renée Fleming
Count: Morten Frank Larsen
Olivier: Russell Braun
Flamand: Joseph Kaiser
La Roche: Peter Rose
Clairon: Sarah Connolly
Italian Singers: Olga Makarina, Barry Banks
Servants:Ronald Naldi, Paul Corona, Steven Goldstein, Christopher Schaldenbrand, Grant Youngblood, Scott Scully, Brian Frutiger, Kyle Pfortmiller
Major-domo:Michael Devlin
Taupe: Bernard Fitch
Solo Dancers: Laura Feig, Eric Otto
Violin: David Chan
Cello: Rafael Figueroa
Harpsichord: Dennis Giauque

The Metropolitan Opera Orchestra
Conductor: Andrew Davis
Production: John Cox
Set Designs: Mauro Pagano
Costume Design & Interior Décor: Robert Perdziola
Lighting Designs: Duane Schuler
Choreography: Val Caniparoli
Stage Director: Peter McClintock

Picture: 16:9 HD
Sound: PCM Stereo / DTS 5.1 
Region code: 0 (All Regions)
Format: NTSC
Subtitle: EN/FR/GE/SP/CH
Running time: 149 mins
Year: 2011