The Royal Opera House

Strauss: Ariadne auf Naxos DVD (Vienna Philharmonic)

Notify me when this product is available:

'The original, longer version of the opera was played, but instead of Hofmannsthal's adaptation of Molière's Le Bourgeois gentilhomme, Bechtolf has devised a fascinating entertainment that incorporates drama, most of Strauss's delectable score, and dance. It incorporates elements of Moliére's play and text from the later prologue, with which he and Strauss salvaged their hybrid flop to produce the masterpiece we know today. In the abstract, it might sound rarefied, but in the theatre, it proved entrancing.' The Sunday Times

Composer: Richard Strauss
Ariadne: Emily Magee
Zerbinetta: Elena Moşuc
Bacchus: Jonas Kaufmann
A Shepherdess: Eva Liebau
A Shepherd:Marie-Claude Chappuis
A Singer: Eleonora Buratto
Harlequin: Gabriel Bermúdez 

Wiener Philharmoniker
Conductor: Daniel Harding
Stage Director: Sven-Eric Bechtolf
Set Designer: Rolf Glittenberg
Costume Designer: Marianne Glittenberg
Choreography: Heinz Spoerli
Lighting: Jürgen Hoffmann
Video Director: Hannes Rossacher 

Picture: 16:9
Sound: PCM 2.0 / DTS Surround
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE/SP/KO/CH
Region code: 0
Format: NTSC 
Running Time: 192 mins 
Year: 2012