Sign in now with your Royal Opera House account.

The Royal Opera House

Strauss: Ariadne auf Naxos DVD (Staatskapelle Dresden)

This production of Richard Strauss's great drama about the competition between high and low art stars opera's three leading Strauss interpreters: Renée Fleming (in her role debut as Ariadne), Sophie Koch (Composer) and Christian Thielemann. They are supported by the  Staatskapelle Dresden - an orchestra that performed the world premieres of nine Strauss operas. 'Fleming's creamy high notes, dark bewitching mezzo hues and a full, warm mid-register reveal Ariadne's inner world'. Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Composer: Richard Strauss
Ariadne/Primadonna: Renée Fleming
Ein Musiklehrer: Eike Wilm Schulte
Der Komponist: Sophie Koch
Bacchus/Der Tenor: Robert Dean Smith
Zerbinetta: Jane Archibald

Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden
Conductor: Christian Thielemann 
Director & Set Designer: Philippe Arlaud

Picture: 16:9
Sound: LPCM stereo / DTS 5.1 Surround
Format: NTSC
Region code: 0 worldwide
Running Time: 136 mins
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE/SP/CH 
Year: 2012