Sonya Yoncheva - The Verdi Album CD

For Sonya Yoncheva's third solo album she turns her attention to the work of a composer for whom many feel she has always had a special affinity: Giuseppe Verdi. The music of Verdi forms the lodestone of most dramatic-lyric sopranos, and Yoncheva includes arias from some of the composer’s rarely-performed operas in addition to some of the most beloved ones. From the early operas, she sings arias from Nabucco, Attila, Luisa Miller and Stiffelio. The latter aria is a prayer of forgiveness from a woman, the wife of a pastor, who has been unfaithful. ‘The emotional range of this aria is amazing, and musically it uses the whole voice from high to low- but amazingly it all happens in about two minutes.’

1. Il trovatore, Act I: Tacea la notte placida ... Di tale amor che dirsi
2. Luisa Miller, Act II: Tu puniscimi, o Signore
3. Attila, Act I: Liberamente or piangi ... Oh! Nel fuggente nuvolo
4. Stiffelio, Act I: Tosto ei disse! ... A te ascenda, o Dio clemente
5. La forza del destino, Act IV: Pace! Pace, mio Dio!
6. Otello, Act IV: Ave Maria, piena di grazia
7. Simon Boccanegra, Act I: Come in quest'ora bruna
8. Don Carlo, Act IV: Tu che le vanità ... Francia, nobile suol
9. Nabucco, Act II: Anch'io dischiuso un giorno ... Salgo già del trono aurato

Soprano: Sonya Yoncheva
Münchner Rundfunkorchester
Conductor: Massim Zanetti
Year: 2018
Find out more about Sonya Yoncheva