Opus Arte

Shostakovich: Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk DVD

Shostakovich’s musically brilliant and ingeniously panoramic opera about love, lust, power and oppression is fabulously well played by the Concertgebouw Orchestra under Mariss Jansons in this authoritative production. Stage director Martin Kusej builds on formidable musical strengths to forge a relentless drama that explores with emotional conviction the shadowy, layered boundaries between victims and perpetrators. First-rate protagonist Eva-Maria Westbroek is phenomenal in her gripping interpretation of Katarina, compelling the entire cast, including the choir, to almost unbearable realism in their portrayal of timeless human weaknesses.

Composer:Dmitri Shostakovich
Katerina Lvovna Ismailova: 
Eva-Maria Westbroek
 Christopher Ventris
Carole Wilson
Boris Timofeyevich Ismailov:
 Vladimir Vaneev
 Lani Poulson
Zinovy Borisovich Ismailov:
Ludovít Ludha
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Conductor: Mariss Jansons
Stage Director: Martin Kusej 

Plus:Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk : The Tragedy of Katerina Ismailova - a documentary film by Reiner E. Mortiz, including interviews with Martin Kusej,  Mariss Jansons and leading members of the cast / Illustrated synopsis / Cast Gallery

Warning: This production contains stroboscopic light effects, nudity and scenes of a sexual nature.

Picture: 16:9
Sound: 2.0 PCM Stereo / DTS 5.1
Duration: 236 mins
Region code: 0 All Regions
Format: NTSC
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE/ES/IT/NE
Year: 2006