Welcome back! We will be shipping orders out every Wednesday via Royal Mail

The Royal Opera House

Schubert Symphony No. 8 & 9

'Schubert's last two symphonies are ambitious in scale and brimming with striking ideas, though only two movemnets of the Symphony No.8 were finished and the score rediscovered and first performed 43 years after the composer's death. The 'Great' C major Symphony marks the summit of Schubert's achievement in the form, combining his unforgettable lyrical gift with the spirit of Beethoven. Michael Halász has been acclaimed for his 'delightful performances' of Schubert.' Penguin Guide

Composer: Franz Schubert
1-2. Symphony No. 8 in B minor 'Unfinished', D.759*
Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra
3-6. Symphony No. 9 in C major 'Great', D.944
Failoni Orchestra
Conductor: Michael Halász
Running Time: 76:28 mins
Year: 1988*/1994