Mayerling DVD (The Royal Ballet) 1994

The Royal Ballet presents a stellar cast in Kenneth MacMillan's Mayerling, filmed in 1994, with John Lanchbery's sumptuous scoring of music by Franz Liszt. The dramatic soundscape is matched by MacMillan’s penetrating interpretation of the events surrounding the double suicide of Crown Prince Rudolf of Austria-Hungary and his young mistress, Mary Vetsera, at Mayerling in January 1889.

Composer: Franz Liszt
Crown Prince Rudolf: Irek Mukhamedov
Baroness Mary Vetsera: Viviana Durante
Mitzi Caspar: Darcey Bussell
Countess Marie Larisch: Lesley Collier 

Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Arranged and orchestrated: John Lanchberry
Conductor: Barry Wordsworth 
Choreography: Kenneth MacMillan 
Designs: Nicolas Georgiadis
Scenario: Gillian Freeman
Lighting: John B.Read 

Picture: 4:3
Sound: PCM 2.0
Format: NTSC
Region code: 0 Worldwide
Running Time: 127 mins
Find out more about the production