Thank you for your patience whilst we process your orders during this busy period

Your Basket is Empty

Sign in

Maria Callas in Concert Blu-ray (Hamburg 1959 & 1962)

This blu-ray disc is part of a collection of three that gather together concert and stage performances from the latter phase of Callas’s career, between 1958 and 1964. These are the only professional video recordings of Callas in performance on stage. All three blu-rays contain footage of Callas performing arias in concert. Even without staging and costumes, she demonstrates her mesmerizing stage presence and her ability to bring the music and the character to life – through the music and text, through facial expression and through subtle use of gesture.

See our full collection of opera Blu-rays and DVDs

15 May 1959
1. La vestale – Tu che invoco con orrore
2. Macbeth – Nel di della vittoria io le incontrai…
3. Il barbiere di Siviglia – Una voce poco fa
4. Don Carlo – Tu che le vanità
5. Il pirata – Oh! s’io potessi dissipar le nubi

16 March 1962*
6. Le Cid – De cet affreux combat...
7. Mireille – Overture
8. Carmen – Prelude
9. Carmen – Habanera
10. Carmen – Entr'acte
11. Carmen – Séguidille
12. La forza del destino –Overture
13. Ernani –Surta è la notte… Ernani, involami
14. La Cenerentola – Nacqui all’affanno e al pianto…
15. Don Carlo – O don fatale, o don crudel

Maria Callas (soprano)
Symphonieorchestra des NDR
Conductor: Nicola Rescigno (Georges Prêtre*)
Picture: 16:9 1080i
Sound: PCM 2.0 stereo / DTS HD Master Audio
Format: 60i BD25
Region code: 0 (Worldwide)
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE/KO
Year: 1959 / 1962

The overall quality of this footage and audio has been improved within the limits of the source.