Maria Callas at Covent Garden Blu-ray (London 1962 & 1964)

This blu-ray disc is part of a collection of three that gather together concert and stage performances from the latter phase of Callas’s career, between 1958 and 1964. These are the only professional video recordings of Callas in performance on stage. All three blu-rays contain footage of Callas performing arias in concert. Even without staging and costumes, she demonstrates her mesmerizing stage presence and her ability to bring the music and the character to life – through the music and text, through facial expression and through subtle use of gesture.

4 November 1962
1. Don Carlo* -Tu che le vanità
2. Carmen* -Prelude

9 February 1964
6. Tosca -Tosca è un buon falco!
7. Ha più forte
8.Egi è là
9. Dov'è dunque Angelotti?
10.Ed or fra noi parliam da buoni amici
11.Orsù, Tosca, parlate
12. Floria! Amore...
13.  Vittoria! Vittoria!
14.Se la giurata fede
15.  Vissi d'arte
16. Vedi, le man giunte
17. E qual via scegliete?

Maria Callas (Tosca)
Renato Cioni (Cavaradossi)
Tito Gobbi (Scarpia)
Robert Bowman (Spoletta)
Dennis Wicks (Sciarrone)

Orchestra and Chorus of the Royal Opera House
Conductor:Georges Prêtre*
Conductor: Carlo Felice Cillario
Set designer and Director: Franco Zeffirelli 
Picture: 16:9 1080i
Sound: PCM 2.0 stereo / DTS HD Master Audio
Format: 60i BD25
Region code: 0 (Worldwide)
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE
Year: 1962 / 1964
Running Time: 70 mins

The overall quality of this footage and audio has been improved within the limits of the source.