Welcome back! We will be shipping orders out every Wednesday via Royal Mail

Opus Arte

MacMillan: Elite Syncopations / The Judas Tree / Concerto Blu-ray (The Royal Ballet)

MacMillan’s vision has been vital in shaping The Royal Ballet’s style and repertory, and what better way to appreciate his art than with this rare chance to experience three contrasting works in a single performance. Abstract, dramatic, humorous – this programme gives a wonderfully varied introduction not just to MacMillan’s work but to the beauty and dramatic power of ballet itself. Concerto, to Shostakovich’s Second Piano Concerto, contrasts moments of exuberance and elegiac reflection. The Judas Tree places a single woman among 13 men to enact a harrowing event that is recognizably contemporary but with biblical overtones. Elite Syncopations completes the programme with a sparkling evocation of a dance hall that brings ragtime rhythms to the dance, and a ragtime band to the stage.

Music: Dmitri Shostakovich
Dancers: Yuhui Choe / Steven McRae / Marianela Nuñez / Rupert Pennefather / Helen Crawford
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductor: Dominic Grier

Music: Scott Joplin and others 
Dancers: Sarah Lamb / Valeri Hristov / Mara Galeazzi / Steven McRae / Laura McCulloch / Iohna Loots / Paul Kay / Liam Scarlett
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductor: Robert Clark

Music: Brian Elias
Dancers: Carlos Acosta / Leanne Benjamin / Edward Watson / Bennet Gartside
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductor:  Barry Wordsworth

Plus: Introductions to each ballet piece by Deborah MacMillan

Picture: 16:9 1080i
Sound: LPCM 2.0 / DTS 5.1 HD - Master Audio
Duration: 114 mins
Region code: All Regions
1 X BD50
Subtitles: FR/DE/ES (Extras only)