Lise Davidsen Debut CD


  • This is perhaps the most eagerly awaited operatic debut recording in years. Lise Davidsen is a young Norwegian soprano already making waves across the world with her stunning performances in both the big lyric dramatic soprano roles and in lieder. To open her recording account she's chosen a couple of composers with whom she's already made her name - Wagner and Strauss - and included the formidable challenge of taking on Strauss' Four Last Songs. Judging by the incredible reviews she's received, she made the right decision. 

    Richard Wagner
    1. Dich, teure Halle, grüß ich wieder (Tannhäuser)
    2. Allmächt'ge Jungfrau, hör mein Flehen! (Tannhäuser)

    Richard Strauss
    3. Es gibt ein Reich (Ariadne auf Naxos)
    4. Ruhe, meine Seele! (Vier Lieder op.27)
    5. Cäcilie (Vier Lieder op.27)
    6. Heimliche Aufforderung (Vier Lieder op.27)
    7. Morgen! (Vier Lieder op.27)
    8. Wiegenlied (Fünf Lieder, Op. 41)
    9. Malvern TrV 297
    10. Frühling (Vier letzte Lieder - Four Last Songs)
    11. September (Vier letzte Lieder - Four Last Songs)
    12. Beim Schlafengehen (Vier letzte Lieder - Four Last Songs)
    13. Im Abendrot (Vier letzte Lieder - Four Last Songs)

    Lise Davidsen soprano
    Philharmonia Orchestra
    Esa-Pekka Salonen

    Decca 483 4883
    Running Time: 63:57 mins
    Year: 2019

  • Davidsen is no ordinary singer. Throughout the whole album one marvels at the voice, its easy grandeur and sheer size, its steely focus and security… The timbre has a default cool beauty but she can flood it with warmth to fill out a phrase magnificently. These gifts are matched by the maturity, honesty and integrity of Davidsen’s approach.Gramophone

    "[Her voice] is an astonishingly strong and flexible one, easily encompassing the sonorous depths and soaring flights needed for the Four Last Songs and other Strauss treasures...Davidsen’s gale-force salutation in the Tannhäuser aria Dich, teure Halle, the opening track, left me breathless: she isn’t a lyric dramatic soprano for nothing.The Times

    "It’s not just the voice – though that is special in itself, gleaming and electric in tone, and buoyed by a seemingly endless supply of breath. It’s also the way she is able to create a still fulcrum even while all Wagner and Strauss’s orchestral manoeuvres churn around her...” The Guardian

    "The young Norwegian soprano's voice, silken at the top, rich with deep mezzo colours, pours forth flawlessly as if in one clear, stupendous breath. It's one of the greatest voices I have heard." The Observer


    Gramophone Editor’s Choice, June 2019

    BBC Radio 3 Record of the Week. June 2019