Opus Arte

La Stupenda DVD Set

Notify me when this product is available:

This unique collection brings together, for the first time, the legendary Australian soprano in four key dramatic coloratura roles that were cornerstones of her repertory - Marguerite de Valois in Les Huguenots, Marie in La fille du Régiment, and the eponymous heroines in Adriana Lecouvreur and Lucrezia Borgia. Accompanying them is the celebrated gala concert she gave in 1983 with her long-time colleague (and one-time protégée), Luciano Pavarotti, featuring extracts from several other major Sutherland roles, including Violetta (La Traviata), Ophélie (Hamlet) and, of course, her signature role, Lucia (Lucia di Lammermoor). All four operas and gala concert were filmed in the iconic Sydney Opera House, and conducted by her husband, Maestro Richard Bonynge.

Composer: Gaetano Donizetti
Lucrezia Borgia
Cast: Joan Sutherland, Margreta Elkins, Ron Stevens, Robert Allman
Stage Director: George Ogilvie

La fille du Régiment
Cast: Joan Sutherland, Anson Austin, Heather Begg, Gregory Yurisich
Stage Director: Sandro Sequi

Composer: Francesco Cilea
Adriana Lecouvreur
Cast: Joan Sutherland, Anson Austin, Heather Begg, John Shaw
Stage Director:John Copley

Composer: Giacomo Meyerbeer
Les Huguenots
Cast: Joan Sutherland, Amanda Thane, Anson Austin, Suzanne Johnston, John Pringle, Clifford Grant, John Wegner
Stage Director:Lotfi Mansouri

Gala Concert with Luciano Pavarotti
Arias and duets from La traviata, I Lombardi, Tosca, I puritani, La sonnambula, Adriana Lecouvreur, Hamlet, Pagliacci, Lucia di Lammermoor and L'elisir d'amore

Joan Sutherland (Soprano)
Australian Opera
Elizabethan Sydney Orchestra
Conductor: Richard Bonynge

Picture: 4:3
Sound: PCM Stereo / 5.1 DTS Surround
Subtitles: EN
Region Code: All Regions
Format: NTSC
Running Time: 12 hrs (5 DVDs)