Please Note: Unfortunately we are unable to offer Special Delivery postage at present

Opus Arte

Ashton: The Dream / Symphonic Variations / Marguerite and Armand Blu-ray

The Dream is an enchanting adaptation of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream to music by Mendelssohn. Symphonic Variations is an early Ashton masterpiece, and a breathtaking, abstract work on the beauty of pure movement. Marguerite and Armand, here danced by former Royal Ballet Principal Zenaida Yanowsky and Guest Artist Roberto Bolle, is a tragic love story of great lyric beauty. The Orchestra of the Royal Opera House is conducted by Emmanuel Plasson.

The Dream
Felix Mendelssohn
 Akane Takada
Oberon: Steven McRae
Arrangement:John Lanchbery
Designer: David Walker
Lighting: John B. Read

Symphonic Variations
 César Franck
Marianela Nuñez / Vadim Muntagirov
Designer: Sophie Fedorovitch
Lighting: John B. Read
Solo piano: Paul Stobart

Marguerite and Armand
Franz Liszt
Marguerite: Zenaida Yanowsky
Armand: Roberto Bolle
Orchestration: Dudley Simpson
Designer: Cecil Beaton
Lighting: John B. Read
Solo piano: Paul Stobart

Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductor: Emmanuel Plasson

Plus: Introduction to The Dream / Bottom on pointe / Introduction to Symphonic Variations / Interview with Zenaida Yanowsky.

Sound: LPCM 2.0, DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio
Format: Bluray
Region code: 0 (worldwide)
Duration: 138 mins
Year: 2017