Opus Arte

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland DVD (The Royal Ballet) 2017

Royal Ballet Artistic Associate Christopher Wheeldon magically captured the twists and turns of Lewis Carroll’s classic story, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, in his 2011 ballet. Bob Crowley’s vivid sets and costumes take us down the rabbit hole into a colourful world full of curious creatures and captivating characters. Joby Talbot’s original score is full of sweeping melodies and contemporary sounds. Lauren Cuthbertson stars as the inquisitive Alice, with Federico Bonelli as the charming Knave of Hearts, Steven McRae as the tap-dancing Mad Hatter and Laura Morera as the formidable Queen of Hearts. This exuberant and engaging ballet is spectacular entertainment for the whole family.

Music: Joby Talbot
 Lauren Cuthbertson
Jack / The Knave of Hearts: Federico Bonelli
Lewis Carroll / The White Rabbit: James Hay
Mother / The Queen of Hearts: Laura Morera
Father / The King of Hearts: Christopher Saunders
Magician / Mad Hatter: Steven McRae
Rajah / The Caterpillar: Fernando Montano
The Duchess: Gary Avis
Vicar / The March Hare: Paul Kay
Verger / The Dormouse: Romany Pajdak
The Cook: Kristen McNally

Choreographer: Christopher Wheeldon
Designs: Bob Crowley
Orchestra of The Royal Opera House
Conductor: Koen Kessels

Plus: Introduction, Bob Crowley talks about the costumes, Wheeldon’s tap-dancing Hatter.

Picture: 16:9
Region code: All Regions
Format: NTSC
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE/ES
Sound: LPCM 2.0, DTS Digital Surround
Duration: 138 mins
Year: 2017