Orders will be sent out weekly every Thursday, so your order may take a little longer to arrive.

Opus Arte

Great Comedies DVD Set (Shakespeare's Globe)

Notify me when this product is available:

This special set brings together three of Shakespeare's best-loved comedies, from the hilarious tale of misdirection and deception that is Twelfth Night to the slapstick humour of The Taming of the Shrew and the magic and mischief that jointly characterize A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Brimming with first-class British acting – including stand-out performances from such lauded individuals as Michelle Terry, Samantha Spiro, Mark Rylance and Stephen Fry – this trio of award-winning Globe Theatre productions brilliantly underscores the humour that is inherent in each of the Elizabethan dramas, with inventive staging, outstanding costumes and original music performed on period-style instruments providing the finishing touches to a must-have collection.

Twelfth Night 
Samuel Barnett 
Orsino: Liam Brennan 
Paul Chahidi 
John Paul Connolly 
Malvolio: Stephen Fry 
Mark Rylance 
Sir Andrew Aguecheek: Roger Lloyd Pack 
Johnny Flynn
An all-male Original Practices production  
Director: Tim Carroll
Designer: Jenny Tiramani
Composer: Claire van Kampen
Choreography: Siân Williams
Musical Director: Adrian Woodward
Musicians: Arngeir Hauksson, Clare McIntyre, Nicholas Perry, Helen Roberts, Emily White

A Midsummer Night’s Dream*
John Light
 Pearce Quigley
Michelle Terry
Luke Thompson
Demetrius: Joshua Silver
 Matthew Tennyson
 Tom Lawrence
Olivia Ross 
Sarah MacRae 
Director: Dominic Dromgoole
Designer: Jonathan Fensom
Composer: Claire van Kampen
Choreography: Siân Williams 
Musical Director (Band): George Bartle

The Taming of the Shrew
Curtis: Tom Anderson
David Beames 
 Jamie Beamish
Gremio: Michael Bertenshaw 
Petruchio: Simon Paisley Day
Katherina: Samantha Spiro
Bianca: Sarah MacRae 
Hortensio: Rick Warden
Director: Toby Frow
Designer: Mike Britton
Composer: Richard Hammarton
Choreography: Siân Williams 
Fight Director: Malcolm Ranson
Musical Director: Stephen Bentley-Klein 
Musicians: Robin Jeffrey, Paul Johnson, Alexandria Lawrence, Magnus Mehta 

Spoken in Shakespeare’s English with English and German subtitles (and French for A Midsummer Night’s Dream)

Picture: 16:9
Sound: PCM 2.0 / 5.1(5.0) DTS
Format: NTSC
Region code: All regions
Running time: 175/172/167 mins
Subtitles: EN/DE(FR*)
Year: 2012 (2013 A Midsummer Night's Dream)