Russian Classics DVD Set

With Boris Godunov Mussorgsky sets the stage, managing to embody Mother Russia in his monumental tale of Nation and Tsar at an eventful turn in history. Two more texts by Pushkin see achingly lyrical realizations by Tchaikovsky, who first tells of the callous young Eugene Onegin and his tragic story of illusion, disaffection and frustrated love, and then, in Pique Dame, of the soldier Hermann, who is obsessed with the aristocratic Liza and with coaxing a winning secret from her gambling grandmother. In Rimsky-Korsakov’s The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh, his finest work for the stage, the master orchestrator spins a supernatural tale with the mystical flavour and steady unfolding of a legend of redemption, while Shostakovich runs the gamut of love, lust, power and oppression in Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk, a drama exploring the shadowy boundaries between victim and perpetrator. Orlin Anastassov, Bo Skovhus, Ewa Podleś and Eva-Maria Westbroek shine in the title roles, as does Svetlana Ignatovich as the forest maiden Fevronia, in vivid, opulent productions from De Nederlanse Opera and Barcelona’s Liceu.

Boris Godunov
Composer: Modest Mussorgsky
Boris: Orlin Anastassov
Xenia: Alessandra Marianelli
Fyodor: Pavel Zubov
Chorus and Orchestra of the Teatro Regio, Torino
Conductor: Gianandrea Noseda
Director: Andrei Konchalovsky

Eugene Onegin
Composer: Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
Eugene Onegin: Bo Skovhus
Tatyana: Krassimira Stoyanova
Lensky: Andrej Dunaev
Prince Gremin: Mikhail Petrenko
The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Conductor: Mariss Jansons
Director: Stefan Herheim

Pique Dame
Composer: Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
Hermann: Misha Didyk
Liza: Emily Magee
Countess: Ewa Podleś
Count Tomsky: Lado Ataneli
Prince Yeletsky: Ludovic Tézier
Symphony Orchestra and Chorus of the Gran Teatre del Liceu
Conductor: Michael Boder
Director: Gilbert Deflo

The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh
Composer: Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Fevroniya: Svetlana Ignatovich
Grishka Kuterma: John Daszak
Prince Yuriy Vsevolodovich: Vladimir Vaneev
Prince Vsevolod Yuryevich: Maxim Aksenov
Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra
Chorus of Netherlands Opera
Conductor: Marc Albrecht
Director: Dmitri Tcherniakov

Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk
Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich
Katerina Lvovna Ismailova: Eva-Maria Westbroek
Sergey: Christopher Ventris
Chorus of De Nederlandse Opera
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Conductor: Mariss Jansons
Director: Martin Kušej

Picture: 16:9
Sound: PCM stereo / DTS 5.1 / DD 2.0
Format: NTSC
Region code: 0 worldwide
Running time: 919 mins (8 DVDs)
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE/IT/ES/NE