Opus Arte

1984 DVD (Northern Ballet)


  • Winston Smith lives in a world of absolute conformity, his every action is scrutinized by Big Brother. However, when Winston meets Julia he dares to rebel by falling in love. Based on George Orwell's masterpiece and created by Guest Choreographer and former Royal Ballet dancer Jonathan Watkins, 1984 will change the way you think about ballet. The brand new score from Tony-nominated Composer Alex Baranowski, who has recently worked with award-winning band The xx, is played by Northern Ballet Sinfonia.

    Northern Ballet
    Music: Alex Baranowski
    Winston Smith: Tobias Batley
    Julia: Martha Leebolt
    O'Brien: Javier Torres
    Mr Charrington: Hironao Takahashi
    Parsons: Giuliano Contadini
    Ampleforth: Kevin Poeung
    Martin: Ashley Dixon
    Lead Prole: Victoria Sibson
    with Artist of Northern Ballet

    Northern Ballet Sinfonia
    Conductor: John Pryce-Jones
    Choreography & Direction: Jonathan Watkins
    Set & Costumes: 
    Simon Daw
    Chris Davey
    Ruth Little

    Extras: Jonathan Watkins 1984

  • Picture:16:9 
    Sounds: PCM Stereo 2.0 / DTS 5.1
    Format: NTSC
    Region Code: All Regions
    Running Time: 86+2 mins
    Year: 2015